FebruHairy: Day 1, Wedding ‘do

So if you can’t tell from the title, this month’s theme is the socio-political turmoil of third world countries and the negative effect on its people and economy.

Just kidding, I’m doing Pinterest hair tutorials.

So yeah, get ready for a bunch of badly lit photos of me under florescent dorm lights trying to smoke a bobby pin like a blunt. We’re trying new things! It’s gonna be fun!

Photo on 2-1-16 at 5.51 PM #2

I’m just getting all of my ideas from Pinterest, so all of the credit goes to those super talented people. I’ll be trying (mostly failing) to recreate them with my own hair, and hopefully giving you some sweet tips and how-to’s so you can do your ‘do. Let’s kick off FebruHairy!

So just so everyone has a reference point, here’s what I look like with my natural hair on a sort of bad hair day because sometimes we don’t always get what we want.

IMG_3256

So basically what we’re going for here is a half-up half-down “wedding hairstyle” that involves pinning back alternate pieces of hair until it looks like something you could wear while throwing back champagne and gossiping with your aunt Shirley. The Pin I used is here.

The first step is to tease the crown of your head with a teasing comb. I used to be all about the teasing life, but I got a lot of shit for it. So now I tease less so that I get teased less. But anyway that’s why I have this comb, and how I have perfected this teasing face.

IMG_3271 Photo on 2-1-16 at 5.48 PM #2

So after you’ve teased your crown, it’s time to start Kris-Krossing. Basically just take a piece from one side of your head from the top layer, and pin it to the back of your head in the middle, as one would when normally doing a half-up half-down kind of thing. Do the same thing to the other side. Then look at the picture more closely and realize you may be   doing it wrong. Photo on 2-1-16 at 5.57 PM

I think what you’re supposed to do is take the strand and wrap it halfway around your finger or thumb, then pin the back side of the loop to your head. So it creates a bump. Like in the fourth picture of the pin if you’re still following that. If you do this first picture, it should look like this second picture in the back.

Repeat this step two more times on each side, then for the last one, decide which side has the most hair left and pin it all the way on the opposite side of the ponytail thing you have going on here. Like the second to last picture of the pin. And Voila!

Photo on 2-1-16 at 6.04 PM

This looks kind of nice, right? I’m not going to a wedding or anything, I just thought this would be sort of nice and easy for me to try for my first day of FebruHairy. Honestly I can see this being exhausting. The front isn’t as flattering on me, but I swallowed my pride and wore it to dinner all in the spirit of the Try-year. That’s what this year is all about, right? Trying things I’m normally too scared or too self-conscious to do. So check in tomorrow or possibly the day after that to see more half- assed hair tutorials for this fabulous month!

Photo on 2-1-16 at 5.53 PM

One more.

Leave a Reply

